Last Friday Night – Katy Perry

Posted on August 14, 2011

Last Friday Night by Katy PerryApparently Katy Perry was influenced into making this song after running naked through a park with some friends. Well that certainly conjours up an image, because unlike the picture portrayed in the video, she is absolutely stunning. Lucky Russel Brand that’s all I can say. The track definitely knocked at the door of the ‘Billboard Hot 100’ although it did not quite make it to number 1.

Number 2 is not too shabby though, right, many an artist would be happy with that, especially given the image she has selected as a geeky looking schoolgirl complete with teeth braces. The track ‘Last Friday Night (T.G.I.F.)’ as featured in the video comes from her latest album Teenage Dream. I can’t help wondering if Russel Brand has had anything to do with the comedy aspect of the video or whether it was all Katy Perry’s idea. It could be, because she must be a bit zany to have married our Russel in the first place. Although from what I have heard she has managed to tame the serial Lothario into behaving himself and keeping his famous fishing tackle where it should be, in his pants, even if she hasn’t got his practical joking completely under control.

Anyway, needless to say, Katy is alright in my book, and she married a Brit so she can’t really be bad can she, even if it was Russel Brand. Well he is quite amusing, ask Jonathan Ross if you don’t believe me.

Teenage Dream – Katy Perry

1. Teenage Dream
2. Last Friday Night (T.G.I.F.)
3. California Gurls (feat. Snoop Dogg)
4. Firework
5. Peacock
6. Circle The Drain
7. The One That Got Away
8. E.T.
9. Who Am I Living For?
10. Pearl
11. Hummingbird Heartbeat
12. Not Like The Movies – Katy Perry
13. California Gurls (feat. Snoop Dogg) (Passion Pit Main Mix)
14. Teenage Dream (Kaskade Club Remix)

What Have I Done to Deserve This – Dusty Springfield and the Pet Shop Boys

Posted on July 08, 2010

One of my favorite albums of all time is Goin’ Back: Very Best Of Dusty Springfield. The featured video on this post is ‘What Have I done to Deserve this’ from the album which was done in co-operation with ‘The Pet Shop Boys’. It was released in 1987 and made it to number 2 in the UK charts and number 2 on the Billboard Hot 100 in the States. It also made number 1 in Ireland but was a little less popular around the rest of the world.

The release of the record revived Dusty’s career and reminded us all just how talented she was. A British singer from an Irish family her career started in 1963 with her hit record ‘I only want to be with you’, another track on her ‘best of’ album. Her revival lasted until 1994 when she fell ill with breast cancer, which she fought for 5 years until she finally lost the battle in 1999. She made it into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame posthumously 10 days after her death and she was also awarded the Order of the British Empire which she received in her hospital bed shortly before she died.

A great singer with a great voice and one of my favorite performers, check out the album to see why.

All 25 tracks of Goin’ Back: Very Best Of Dusty Springfield

1. Wishin’ And Hopin’
2. Little By Little
3. All Cried Out
4. Losing You
5. Son Of A Preacher Man
6. All I See Is You
7. In The Middle Of Nowhere
8. What Have I Done To Deserve This
9. Goin’ Back
10. Island Of Dreams
11. I’ll Try Anything
12. Reputation
13. Stay Awhile
14. In Private
15. Time And Time Again
16. I Just Don’t Know What To Do With Myself
17. I Only Want To Be With You
18. Windmills Of Your Mind
19. Silver Threads And Golden Needles
20. Say I Won’t Be There
21. Some Of Your Lovin’
22. The Look Of Love
23. I Close My Eyes And Count To Ten
24. Nothing Has Been Proved
25. You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me