Meet me Halfway, the Black Eyed Peas

Posted on May 18, 2010

Now its a sad thing when you find you are a bit jealous of your grandchildren, but that is exactly what happened this weekend because at the tender ages of 10 and 13 their parents took them to Berlin to see Black Eyed Peas in concert and no doubt performing Meet me Half Way; can’t imagine they didn’t anyway.

Now I really love the Black Eyed Peas, and OK I have their latest album E.N.D. (Energy Never Dies) which features ‘Meet me Half Way’ on it, but its not the same as seeing them perform live in Berlin is it. That is going to be one night those kids are going to remember for the rest of their lives, and apparently even the Germans stood up and started dancing and singing along. Well not while Cheryl Cole was on, but definitely for the Peas.

I am going to have to move off this topic soon, because I have done a few pretty girl with rapper features, but I couldn’t move on before showing respect to the group that came up with the concept and not with a guest singer either, Fergie is actually in the band.

Meet Me Halfway was the third single to be released from the album E.N.D. in September 2009. It reached number one in Australia and the UK, making it their third chart topper from the album in both countries. It only got to number 7 on the U.S. Billboard Hot 100, but was one of 4 singles from the album to get into the chart, 2 of them at the same time, which was a bit of a record in its own right. The other three were ‘Boom Boom Pow’, number 1 spot, ‘I got a Feeling’, number 1 spot and then ‘Imma Be’ the third track to to get to the number 1 spot. A pretty impressive set of statistics for the US, which is hard enough to crack with one single from an album never mind four, and especially with 3 of the 4 making it to number 1.

So who are the band, well the band members are:

  • Will.I.Am
  • Apl.De.Ap
  • Taboo
  • Fergie

E.N.D. (Energy Never Dies) The Album

  1. “Boom Boom Pow” – 5:08
  2. “Rock That Body” – 4:28
  3. “Meet Me Halfway” – 4:44
  4. “Imma Be” – 4:16
  5. “I Gotta Feeling” – 4:49
  6. “Alive” – 5:04
  7. “Missing You” – 4:35
  8. “Ring-a-Ling” – 4:33
  9. “Party All the Time” – 4:44
  10. “Out of My Head” – 3:52
  11. “Electric City” – 4:08
  12. “Showdown” – 4:27
  13. “Now Generation” – 4:06
  14. “One Tribe” – 4:41
  15. “Rockin to the Beat” – 3:45