Nothings Real But Love – Rebecca Ferguson

Posted on December 18, 2011

It’s taken a while but I finally got to publish an article with an XFactor contestant, and no it’s not Leona Lewis. It’s actually the very lovely and talented Rebecca Ferguson performing her single ‘Nothings Real But Love’ live on the Graham Norton show, a UK TV chat show. The track is the first on her d├ębut album Heaven

I suppose given the success of Leona Lewis she should perhaps have been featured first. There is no doubt she has an amazing voice but I really can’t get into the tragic perspective of the records she releases, my preference being to be uplifted by the music I listen to rather than the opposite. A real shame from my perspective because when Leona won the XFactor I was really looking forward to her record releases, a beautiful girl with an even more beautiful voice, but for me entirely the wrong music.

Rebecca on the other hand didn’t actually win the XFactor, she was in fact runner up to Matt Cardle. But she did secure a record contract after the show and, as you will hear at the end of the video, co-wrote all the tracks on her album which was released at the beginning of December. She is now actively promoting her album and is due to release it in the States sometime in early 2012, if not sooner. Personally I think with her unique voice and looks, she will go down a storm. The only slight problem is that she is as ‘Scouse’ sounding as Cheryl Cole was ‘Geordie’ sounding. So if she gets an offer to be a judge on a talent show at any point of time in the future, she might well be better off giving it a miss. Not that the Scouse dialect comes through on her recordings, strange how that never seems to happen, she does sound like sheer class. It won’t be too long before those in the States can get their hands on her album, but for now you can at least enjoy the videos, or hopefully anyway.

Heaven – Rebecca Ferguson

1. Nothing’s Real but Love
2. Glitter & Gold
3. Shoulder to Shoulder
4. Fairytale (Let Me Live My Life This Way)
5. Mr. Bright Eyes
6. Fighting Suspicions
7. Teach Me How To Be Loved
8. Run Free
9. Diamond to Stone
10. Too Good To Lose

Bruno Mars – Grenade

Posted on March 13, 2011

Bruno Mars - Courtesy of FlickrI first saw this performed on the Graham Norton show on UK TV and I have no idea why, but it really appealed. I guess it could be the casual jamming type of approach to the performance. Plus I also thought it was high time we had a recent release added to the portfolio and this fitted that bill rather nicely.

Turns out that Bruno Mars is a pretty talented individual who not only writes for his own purposes, hence the ‘Grenade’ rendition, but has produced some pretty tasty tunes for 3rd parties. One of the most famous being ‘Fuck You’ (excuse the language) by Cee Lo Green. Back to his personal campaign though, his debut album was released last year in 2010 which was called Doo-Wops & Hooligans and includes the featured single ‘Grenade’.

Doo-Wops & Hooligans

1. Grenade 3:42
2. Just The Way You Are 3:40
3. Our First Time 4:03
4. Runaway Baby 2:27
5. The Lazy Song 3:08
6. Marry You 3:50
7. Talking To The Moon 3:37
8. Liquor Store Blues (Feat. Damian Marley) 3:49
10. The Other Side (Feat. Cee Lo Green And B.o.B) 3:47