I Love Rock and Roll – Joan Jett and the Blackhearts

Posted on July 30, 2011

Joan Jett and the Blackhearts - I Love Rock and RollThe opening article on this blog was called Queen Meets Waynes World and was basically Queen’s ‘Bohemian Rhapsody’. So in a way this is the 2nd time I have a featured a track from a common source, although this time it is the film ‘Waynes World’, and rather than Queen it is the fabulous Joan Jett and her Blackhearts performing ‘I Love Rock and Roll‘.

Originally written in 1975 by Alan Merrill and Jake Hooker of Arrows, who also recorded the first released version of the track. It only really made to the big time however when Joan and the Blackhearts did a cover in 1981 which went platinum. But there is another twist to the tale because the video shown here is the version of the song used as part of the Wayne’s World 2 soundtrack in 1993. There are several scenes from the movie with Mike Myers and Dana Carvey mixed with Joan and her band playing in a concert. This sort of follows the approach used in the original Waynes World where Bohemian Rhapsody proved such a big success, both for the film and for Queen. So it is fair to say that cover versions of ‘I Love Rock and Roll’ have been a lot more successful than the original Arrows version. Well it might be fair to say it, but its not particularly fair for the Arrows, unless they got royalties of course.

Now I have to be honest with you, I haven’t actually bought an album of Joan Jett’s, well not yet anyway. But looking down the list of their Greatest Hits below, there are another one or two that definitely used to get an airing at some point in the local discos we used to frequent as teenagers and in our early twenties. I Love Rock and Roll is probably the most recognisable, but ‘ Do You Wanna Touch Me’ was definitely up there along with it. Anyway I guess I need to get the album to see which other ones I can remember, but the one I will never forget is ‘I Love Rock and Roll’, classic.

Joan Jett and the Blackhearts – Greatest Hits

1. Cherry Bomb 2:33
2. You Drive Me Wild 3:52
3. School Days 3:02
4. Love Is Pain 3:30
5. Bad Reputation 2:47
6. You Don’t Know What You’ve Got 3:42
7. I Want You 2:42
8. I Love Rock N’ Roll 2:55
9. (I’m Gonna) Run Away 2:28
10. Crimson and Clover 3:16
11. Do You Wanna Touch Me (Oh Yeah) 3:43
12. The French Song 3:35
13. Everyday People 2:39
14. Fake Friends 3:16
15. Light of Day 3:31
16. I Hate Myself For Loving You 4:07
17. Backlash 3:28
18. Activity Grrrl 3:27
19. Love Is All Around 1:00
20. Androgynous 3:08
21. A.C.D.C. 3:24