Gotye – Somebody That I Used To Know (feat. Kimbra)

Posted on April 21, 2012

Who would have thought that a Belgian/Australian singer songwriter, going by the name of Gotye, would have made it big by hitting the number one spot on the ‘Billboard Hot 100’ chart in America. That is until you see and listen to this amazing record ‘Somebody That I Used to Know’. This is the featured video for this article, but be warned it is one of those songs, that once you hear it, you will not be able to get it out of your head. Personally I don’t really want to because I love it and it has convinced me that I need to check out more of his stuff on his 3rd album Making Mirrors which you can download via the link. Either the whole album or the tracks you like best. You can listen to samples from each track before deciding of course.

Kimbra - Somebody I used to knowThis track was released in 2011 and features the New Zealand singer Kimbra making a very worthy contribution to the song. She has a crystal clear singing voice that complements the track and Gotye’s own style and voice perfectly. Kimbra has been writing songs since she was 10 years old and has her own album out called Vows which it would be well worth checking out if you like what you hear.

She is now twenty two years old and already has a 12 year history of public performances having started both her song writing and singing career at the age of 10.

She won the Juice TV award for the best breakthrough music video. That was for her second single “Simply on My Lips” back in 2007, Kimbra was only seventeen then. Well I guess you either have it or you don’t, I think she does and it doesn’t sound like I am the only one. Good pick Gotye, she might be a big part of the reason ‘Somebody I Used to Know’ got to number 1 in so many places, and that’s not taking away from your contribution either, because that was pretty damn good as well.

1. Making Mirrors 1:01
2. Easy Way Out 1:57
3. Somebody That I Used To Know 4:05
4. Eyes Wide Open 3:11
5. Smoke And Mirrors 5:13
6. I Feel Better 3:18
7. In Your Light 4:39
8. State Of The Art 5:22
9. Don’t Worry, We’ll Be Watching You 3:18
10. Giving Me A Chance 3:07
11. Save Me 3:51
12. Bronte 3:18

Jessie J – Price Tag

Posted on May 09, 2011

Jessie J the latest phenomenon to hit the charts. She got herself all contractually tied up in the States but wanted to start her career in the UK where she felt more comfortable. Don’t know how she managed to pull that one out of the bag but I am kind of glad she did. She pretty much started as a singer songwriter and penned the famous Miley Cyrus tune ‘Party in the USA’. That got her noticed.

Her first album is called Who You Are and based on her first and 2nd singles both from the album, Do it Like A Dude and Price Tag, its no surprise she is already notching up platinum’s around the world. She won the critics choice award at the 2011 Brit Awards and, just as an aside, has declared herself openly bi-sexual. Sounds like she knows what she wants from life to me.

Who Are You

1. Price Tag 3:42
2. Nobody’s Perfect 4:20
3. Abracadabra 3:50
4. Big White Room 5:30
5. Casualty Of Love 3:55
6. Rainbow 3:05
7. Who’s Laughing Now 3:55
8. Do It Like A Dude 3:15
9. Mamma Knows Best 3:15
10. L.O.V.E. 3:51
11. Stand Up 3:27
12. I Need This 4:21
13. Who You Are 3:51